5toSurvive with Melody!


Hey all!
Thanks for your interest in the 5tosurvive run this Sunday (April,10), 3:00pm.   SORRY! I decided to do this so last minute so  I apologize everything is so rushed!  This Sunday at 3:11 people over Japan and the world will run/jog/walk a 5k in their different towns/cities to honor the victims of the March 11th quake and tsunami and try to raise money before.  Many JETS around the country are participating and AJET is a main sponsor of this event.  My hope is we can get a group together to enjoy some exercise and promote a good cause!  They recommend trying to raise any donations before online as running or even walking with donation buckets will be a challenge and I am still trying to figure out the legal restrictions of it.  It is easy to create a donation page online so that friends, family, other ALTs can support.
All the directions are here at:

http://5tosurvive.org/

which will lead you to:

https://www.justgiving.com/teams/5tosurvive/

Here is a link to my page:

http://www.justgiving.com/Melody-Lynch-Kimery

However I think small signs or small banners in Japanese saying what we are walking or running for would be tight if we could get them together.  Here is a map route I have worked out: Let me know if you want to change it.  I am open to anything.  It is all through the main part of the city which means very slow and crowded, but would be nice to  let people know why we are running/walking.  I am trying it this afternoon.  It starts at the station and ends at the station.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/30937580/

Maybe afterwards we can do a dinner or picnic or split a chuhai haha!  Just let me know if you are still interested in donating, participating or anything!!!  Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!

Mel

Big THANKS to Mel for getting this together! So much FUN!

 

4月10日日曜日、午後3時11分、5キロのコースを走る「5TOSURVIVE」(ファイブトゥサバイブ)という東北支援イベントが全世界で行われました!秋田ではALT(アシスタントランゲージティーチャー)のメロディーが先頭に立ち、15名が参加し秋田市内を走ったり歩いたりして募金を呼び掛けました。ポールと私ももちろん参加してきました。学生時代は陸上部に所属し走ってはいたのですが、引退してから全くと言っていいほど走ったり運動をしていなかった私は走りきれるかかなり不安でした。案の定、1キロくらいを過ぎたあたりから右膝が痛み始め、かなりのペースダウン。息も上がる。でもみんなに励ましてもらいながら、日本人の私が頑張らなくては!と気合を入れて走り続けました。秋田駅前を通過した時、きりたんぽ君(正確な名前はわかりません…ごめんなさい)が「がんばれ東北!」と書かれた旗を持って立っていたのでハイタッチしてきました。気持ちはひとつ!最終的には歩くのとほとんど同じようなペースになってしまいましたが、無事に走りきることが出来ました!

私たちを見た人たちが何かを感じ取ってくれたことを信じています。走っている途中、何名かに「ありがとう、頑張ってね」と声をかけて頂きました。すごく嬉しかったし、励みになりました。このイベントに関わったすべての皆さんに大きく感謝します!!メロディー、先頭に立って企画してくれてありがとう。ポール、走っている最中自分もキツイのに励まし続けてくれてありがとう。そして、走っている最中に声をかけたり手を振って応援してくれた皆さん、本当にありがとうございます。

Minami

Leave a Reply

