The Fruit Tree Project – Kesennuma, Day 3

Loading up!

The deliveries get easier and easier by the day.  Today we delivered ~1,008 bananas and ~616 sunfruit (similar to an orange).  Todd arrived late last night to help us out for a few days and Minami arrived at lunchtime by train.  After the morning delivery Doug and Todd spent the day volunteering with the Kesennuma Volunteer Center, which is a GREAT way to help out right now in Kesennuma.

The "FIGHTO shimbun" crew: a newspaper they make/post in the shelter everyday. AWESOME kiddos

Check in in at the Kesennuma Volunteer Center

They are extremely organized and the crew running the center are all super friendly and amazing people.  Minami and I spent the rest of the afternoon meeting with people to set up more volunteer opportunities later in the week. We also placed fruit orders through Golden Week because the fruit distributors would be closed for the holidays.  After we finished, we headed out to a camp site where many of the volunteers were staying.  The drive is bittersweet because it’s such a peaceful drive through rolling hills along the coast, but, now many of the small communities that once existed are gone.  Some areas still looked like the tsunami came through yesterday.  It’s always hard seeing the devastation, and for me, never gets easier.  But, at the end of the day, its AMAZING to see people from all over the world supporting the relief efforts in Tohoku right now, and we have met so many amazing people here in Kesennuma, from all over Japan, living out of their cars in some cases, just to be here to volunteer and make a difference.  We ended the night at an izakaya conveniently located at the campsite.  There we linked up with a big group of volunteers, and enjoyed each others company while also kicking back some food/drink to unwind from the day.

The "FIGHTO shimbun" wall

5月1日日曜日、いよいよ私も現地に向かう為朝6:14の電車に乗り込みました。
秋田から横手、北上、一関を経由しての約6時間の長旅…さすがにちょっぴり疲れました。
私が移動している中、気仙沼ではポールとダグラス、そして前日の夜に現地入りしたトッドの3人が早朝にフルーツを同じようにデリバリー。日に日にスムーズになっていきます。その後3人はボランティアセンターへ。ここ、気仙沼ボランティアセンターでは日本各地から駆けつけた人たちがボランティアとして働いていました。みなさんとても素晴らしい方々でとにかくフレンドリー!システムもかなりしっかりしていて、必要な用具もすべて揃っているし誰でも安心してボランティアに参加することが出来るようになっていました。トッドとダグラスはこの日、そのままボランティアをして一日を過ごしました。
私はお昼にようやく着きポールと合流、まずはフルーツのお店へ挨拶と打ち合わせに行きました。GWの連休に入る為、この日に先の2~5日までのフルーツを注文しなければいけませんでした。
その後、気仙沼小学校へ今後のボランティア活動の打ち合わせに行きました。そこで初めて「ファイト新聞社」の子供たちと会うことが出来ました!自分たちと同じように避難している人たちを励まそうと小学1年生の子が始めた「ファイト新聞」。本当にすごい!!避難所にはこの新聞がたくさん貼られていて雰囲気を明るくしています。今ではいろんなメディアに取り上げられていて、すっかり有名人になったみんなと一緒に写真を撮らせてもらいました。ありがとう!!
避難所での打ち合わせの結果、5月3日に凧上げがあるとのことでそれに混ざって子供たちと一緒に遊ばせてもらうことになりました。その後の流れでトッドのマジックショーなどをする予定。私は参加できないのですごく残念。。でも楽しみなイベントです!
この日の夜はボランティア専用のキャンプサイトで車中泊をしました。その場所に行くまで通った道もまた、津波の被害で悲惨な状態になっていました。コンクリートの防波堤は破壊され海に突き刺さり、そこにあったと思われる家々は土台を残しすべて流されていました。コメリは中がぐちゃぐちゃのままの状態で、まるで昨日津波が来たかのような光景がいまだに広がっていました。被災地を見るたび言葉を失います…

– Minami

Leave a Reply

